REVIEW: ‘The Iron Hunt’ by Marjorie M. Liu

Paperback: 320 pages

Publisher: Ace

Release Date: June 24, 2008

Series: Hunter Kiss

THE LAST OF HER KIND, A WARRIOR AWAITS THE CALL

“During the day, Maxine’s tattoos are her armour and she is invincible. At night they peel from her skin to take on forms of their own, leaving her human and vulnerable – and showing themselves to be demons sleeping beneath her skin. 
But these demons are the best friends and bodyguards a woman could have. And Maxine needs bodyguards. She is the last in a line of women with power in their blood, trained to keep the world safe from malignant beings who would do us harm.
But ten thousand years after its creation, the prison dimension that kept the worst of these from us is failing, and all the Wardens save Maxine are dead. She must bear the burden of her bloodline and join the last wild hunt against the enemy.”

Short reviews
“From the imagination of one of today’s most talented authors comes a mesmerizing, darkly disturbing world on the brink of apocalypse.” – Romantic Times
“A stunning new urban fantasy series from an author who never ceases to amaze” – Booklist
“Liu’s books are kick-ass reads” – Kelley Armstrong

My thoughts
You can all read my views on the prequel for this book and, unfortunately, it disappointed me. BUT NOT THIS BOOK! I was sooo happy with this book and it finally grew on me. I guess, I’m just not a novella person! Well let’s get started then, shall we?
Because I read the novellla, I already knew the background story and already loved “the boys”, a.k.a. the amazing little demons that protect Maxine. I’m not a big fan of Grant’s, if I’m totally honest, but I’m glad Maxine is happy with him.

The writing improved, or maybe I just got used to Liu’s style. It’s really unique and it certainly grew on me. If you don’t want to be confused about the whole story from the beginning, you should deffo read the novella.
I loved the plot! I really did. It’s one of those ideas that is seriously complicated and I had to continuously stop studying for my exams to see what happened next. I was hooked.
New characters were introduced and I loved every single one of them, but one stuck in my mind in particular. Tracker. Oh man, I was already swooning as soon as he was introduced. I think he would be much better suited to Maxine and they would make a kick-ass pair! If not, I’m happy to keep him to myself (*laughs evilly*). Okay, moment over.
I’m curious now what happens next! Hopefully a certain tracker will show himself in this novel….ok, I seriously have to stop thinking about him, it’s not healthy.
So if you want to read a kick-ass story, full of lovely twists and hot guys, interesting demons and whatnot, then you have to read this book.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥ – 4 hearts!


Leave a Reply

