“Pride Mates” by Jennifer Ashley (Shifters Unbound #1) – Review

Paperback: 304 pages

Publisher: Leisure Books

Release Date: January 26, 2010

Series: Shifters Unbound

CALL OF THE WILD

To most, they are animals even when in human form. They are to be collared and kept on the fringes of society, scorned because they are feared, hated for their extraordinary powers. And attorney Kim Fraser has to go right into the heart of their lair.

It’s her job to defend those in need. But there s absolutely nothing defenseless about Liam Morrissey. His soft Irish lilt and feline grace can’t disguise his sheer strength. Nor can the silver chain at his throat, designed to control the aggression of his kind, completely reassure her that this man has been tamed.

Yet when a feral shifter begins to stalk them both, Liam is the only one she trusts with her life. She’ll let him claim her for her protection, for her pride, and for a passion that knows no bounds.”

My thoughts

Just look at that cover! Damn, I could stare at it for ages. I don’t know about you, but I love Celtic lore and the medallion pictured on the cover is called a Celtic knot. I have a very similar one, so when I saw this book, I knew I had to buy it. And besides it’s got everything I love in it: shapeshifters, faeries, love, sex, and vulnerable characters.

With just the right amount of humor, Jennifer Ashley managed to picture just my kind of man. Liam Morrissey is also Irish, which is always a plus for me! I love me some sexy Irish men.

I don’t need to tell you how good this book is. It just is! I’m a massive Shifters fan and can’t wait to get my hands on the next books in the series. There are lots of hot sex scenes in this book, but it also speaks of family and love. Liam is such a protector and a sweet man that I found myself wishing I find somebody just like him.

The story world is also fairly interesting. I hate the fact that the shapeshifters are chained and locked in a society far away from humans. It seems so unfair, but at least they don’t feel the need to be among humans, so it’s all good. Shifters are really loving to each other, even to non-family members. The whole atmosphere in their “Shifter City” is filled with love and joy.

The book starts with attorney Kim Fraser, who is trying to defend a shifter in a murder case. Everybody thinks she is insane, but she is convinced the shifter is innocent. The only problem is that nobody will talk to her. Soooo she goes to see Liam Morrissey. He is the one who opens up the doors for her, even though he doesn’t believe she can do anything about the case. They are instantly attracted to each other and I find it sweet that he tries to take care of her even without knowing what kind of person she is. For example, he gives her a foot massage after she walked for a long time in high heels. And that was the first day they met! Ludicrous, right?

Anyways, I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. I think I’m going to read it again soon, cause I just miss all the characters! A girl can dream, right?

Rating: ★★★★★ – 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

