Mannheim, Nalini Singh & Lara Adrian Signing

Nalini Singh (left), Lara Adrian (right)

I’ve been planning my trip to Mannheim for a few weeks now, ever since I’ve heard that the amazing Nalini Singh and Lara Adrian are coming to Germany! Together, a very good friend of mine and I, woke up early yesterday and drove around 250 km to meet these lovely ladies.

My friend and I, we’re both massive fans, so we were naturally pretty excited to meet them. We arrived in Mannheim around noon and the signing wasn’t until 6 p.m., so what should two girls do when in a new city and with lots of time to spare? Go shopping & exploring, of course!

Mannheim is an impressive city with a surprising amount of shoe stores – yes, we’ve been in every single one we could find 🙂 – and a few designer clothes stores. We walked around till our feet hurt, and I’m still in pain today, then sat down to have some lunch. Spaghetti Carbonara was on the menu for me, and it was delicious. Yeah, yeah, I know, but who cares about fitness when you’re in a new city and you’re exhausted? I don’t!

Anyways, afterwards we went to visit the famous university to scout the place as a possible option for the postgraduate degree. Yep, it sure was something! Have a look below:

Mannheim University

I think the picture says it all, doesn’t it? And that’s not all of it. The university used to be a castle and trust me, you can get lost in that place really easily! That done, we then returned to our exploring for another two hours, then went on to join the queue an hour before the actual signing even started. And we were not the first ones there! The line was so long, I couldn’t even see the end of it, but we were luckily among the first ones to get our books signed.

First, we were allowed a question session for 15 minutes before the signing and we got a few juicy info. For starters, they both still have loads of books planned in each series, so there’s no knowing when one of them will end. We laughed so hard when one of the fans asked if the books were censored in the US because of the amount of sexual content in it. The answer was, of course, no, and then they asked us if we wanted even more sex in them, to which we replied with an affirmative yes!

Question Session

When we finally got our turn to get our books signed, I was sweating like mad and my nerves were shot to the ground. My cheeks were red from blushing so much, but both Nalini Singh and Lara Adrian were so sweet, that it was impossible not to fall in love with them. Before coming to Mannheim, they went to a convention in Berlin, so I guess they were pretty exhausted. Yet they showed to signs of that and said they were just happy to have the opportunity to meet their readers. I got two books signed by Nalini (Slave to Sensation & Angel’s Blood):

Slave to Sensation – UK Edition, signed

Angel’s Blood – UK Edition, signed

And one by Lara Adrian (Kiss of Midnight):

Kiss of Midnight – US Edition, signed

We also received a signed bookplate from each, which features the German cover version of their novels – I read all my books in English 🙂 I’m in awe of these two women and what they’ve both achieved, and hope to one day be able to publish a novel and be as successful as them.

Archangel’s Blade – German Edition, signed bookplate

Darker after Midnight – German Edition, signed bookplate

Can’t wait to read more from them! I’m so excited to see what happens next 🙂

Iulia Lesley xo

P.S.: Please notice the books on the shelf standing behind me in the first picture – oh, yeah. Fifty Shades of Grey. What else?

Leave a Reply

